Life Through the Rearview Mirror

We often spend far too much time dwelling on what has happened to us.  How often do we say “if only such-and-such hadn’t happened” or “it’s so-and-so’s fault”?  Sure, maybe all that’s true, but it is a waste of time.

When I find myself caught up in the “review mirror syndrome,” I think of my life – my current situation – as if it were an automobile.  I can’t drive a car by looking in the rearview mirror.  Not without some serious, and maybe even deadly, consequences.  To get successfully from Point A to Point B, we much look forward.  Sure, a glance now and then to make sure something from our past isn’t overtaking us now, but it can only be a glance.  Ninety-nine percent of the time, we must look forward and navigate successfully through what is ahead, not behind.

So, today, as I wish I wouldn’t written many parts of “Seashells in the Desert” differently, I remember the RMS (Rearview Mirror Syndrome) and focus instead on improving my next book based on what I learned from the past.  Yeah, maybe we learned that Main Street was full of potholes, so we won’t go there again.  But, we don’t keep looking BACK at Main Street while trying to find an alternate route.  It’s a recipe for disaster.

Don’t forget the past, but look forward!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

